Animation Software, Cameras and Lights

February 7, 2010

The other day I was looking at software specifically for creating animation. I think I was browsing animateclay.com and came across an article about it. After a quick research I found iStopMotion, which is supposed to be one of the best ones for Mac. I want to be able to shoot straight from the laptop with my stills camera.

I bought the mummy bear’s bed version, which cost £86.82, including a backup disk and VAT.

I installed the software and (damn it!) neither my Lumix DMC-LX3 or my Canon 350D work with it for direct capture. I may need to buy another camera. There are a few cameras that are compatible. I could buy an expensive Canon 20D with a lens that I could use on my 350D (I always wanted another lens for it) or I could buy mid priced compact camera.

I’m torn. I shouldn’t be spending, but this film is going to cost money one way or another.

In lighting news, a friend of ours brought two floodlights over for me to borrow, need to do some tests and see if they are good, or if they will be blinding!

Update: I am bidding on a Canon 20D body only on eBay, I can always sell it after.

Leave a Reply

